Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Hurricane Katrina Emergency Fund

Professional Bail Agents of the United States

"The National Voice of the Bail Agent"


The PBUS Hurricane Katrina Emergency Fund

Almost five years ago today, Sunday, August 28, 2005, Hurricane Katrina made landfall devastating portions of Louisiana and the Mississippi Gulf Coast. PBUS remembers and thanks those of our members who came to the relief and assistance of those LA and MS bail agents who lost so much during the aftermath of the worst storm to hit Louisiana and the MS Gulf coast.

Within days following Hurricane Katrina making landfall, PBUS created the Hurricane Katrina Emergency Fund and sought financial assistance from our members. Our members responded as truly PBUS members always respond when it comes to helping fellow bail agents in desperate need. Remember, jails were emptied, courts were closed down and cities seemingly abandoned in the wake of this disaster. PBUS members contributed in excess of $25,000 to the relief fund and PBUS began to mail the proceeds out almost immediately. PBUS continues to thank those of our members whose generous contributions aided other members during their most immediate times of need. PBUS: Members helping members.


Hurricane Katrina making its third landfall, near the MS/LA border. Source: http://en.wikipedia.org

Thursday, August 25, 2005

At 6:30 PM EDT (2230 UTC), Katrina made its first landfall in Florida as a Category 1 hurricane near Hallandale Beach, Florida on the Miami-Dade/Broward county line. After landfall, instead of travelling west as originally forecast, Katrina jogged hard left (south/southwest) almost parallel to the coastline in densely-populated metropolitan Miami, Florida. As many as six people were killed, including three people killed by falling trees and two boaters that attempted to ride out the storm in their crafts. Other sources, including BBC, put the Florida death toll at nine lives.

Katrina continued its path through Coral Gables and southwest Miami, then travelled southwest through the unpopulated Everglades National Park and exited the state near the southern tip of mainland Florida.

Katrina destroyed many old large trees in Miami, pulling some out of the ground by the roots. Hurricane experts who toured the Kendall/Sunset area after the storm determined that tornadoes had been spawned out of the hurricane, but luckily only struck between houses, causing no deaths.

Friday, August 26, 2005

At 1:00 AM EDT, maximum sustained winds had decreased to 70 mph (110 km/h) and Katrina was again downgraded to a tropical storm. At 5:00 AM EDT, the eye of Hurricane Katrina was located just offshore of southwestern Florida over the Gulf of Mexico about 50 miles (80 km) north-northeast of Key West, Florida. Maximum sustained winds had again increased to 75 mph (121 km/h) and Katrina was upgraded again to a Category 1 hurricane.

In the early afternoon, the National Hurricane Center officially shifts the possible track of Katrina from the Florida Panhandle to the Mississippi/Louisiana coast. Governor Kathleen Babineaux Blanco declared a state of emergency for the state of Louisiana. The declaration included activation of the state of Louisiana's emergency response and recovery program under the command of the director of the state office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness to supply emergency support services. Following the declaration of a state of emergency, federal troops were deployed to Louisiana to coordinate the planning of operations with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). 922 Army National Guard and 8 Air National Guard are deployed.

By 11:00 PM EDT, the National Hurricane Center predicted that Hurricane Katrina would strike the town of Buras-Triumph, Louisiana, 66 miles (106 km) southeast of New Orleans.

Saturday, August 27, 2005

By 5:00 AM EDT, Hurricane Katrina reached Category 3 intensity.

At 10:00 AM EDT, officials in St. Charles Parish, Louisiana, St. Tammany Parish, and Plaquemines Parish ordered a mandatory evacuation of all of their residents. Jefferson Parish and St. Bernard Parish ordered voluntary evacuations, recommending that all residents evacuate, particularly those living in lower areas. Jefferson Parish officials did declare a mandatory evacuation for the coastal areas of Grand Isle, Crown Point, Lafitte, and Barataria. Tolls were suspended on the Lake Pontchartrain Causeway as well as the Crescent City Connection, to speed up the evacuation process.

At 5:00 PM EDT, New Orleans Mayor Ray Nagin announced a state of emergency and a called for a voluntary evacuation.. Nagin said the city would open the Superdome as a shelter of last resort for evacuees with special needs. He advised anyone planning to stay there to bring their own food, drinks and other comforts such as folding chairs. "No weapons, no large items, and bring small quantities of food for three or four days, to be safe," he said. The Louisiana National Guard had delivered three truckloads of water and seven truckloads of MRE's to the Superdome, enough to supply 15,000 people for three days.

Governor Blanco sends a letter to President George W. Bush asking him to declare a major disaster for the State of Louisiana, in order to release federal financial assistance. In response to Governor Blanco's request, President Bush declared a federal state of emergency in Louisiana.

Sunday, August 28, 2005

Just after midnight, at 12:40 AM CDT (0540 UTC), Hurricane Katrina reached Category 4 intensity with 145 mph (233 km/h) winds. By 7:00 AM CDT (1200 UTC), it was a Category 5 storm, with maximum sustained winds of 175 mph (280 km/h), gusts up to 215 mph (344 km/h) and a central pressure of 902 mbar.

Katrina was expected to make landfall overnight. Shortly after the meeting, at 10:00 AM CDT (1500 UTC), the National Weather Service issued a bulletin predicting "devastating" damage.

Monday, August 29, 2005

At 5:10 AM CDT (1010 UTC), Hurricane Katrina made its second landfall as a strong Category 3 hurricane near Buras-Triumph, Louisiana, with sustained winds of more than 125 mph (205 km/h), although Category 4 winds may have briefly affected the area. Katrina also made landfall in St. Bernard parish and St. Tammany parish as a Category 3 hurricane for a total of three landfalls in Louisiana.

By 8:00 AM CDT (1300 UTC), in New Orleans, water was seen rising on both sides of the Industrial Canal. At approximately 8:14 AM CDT (1314 UTC), the New Orleans office of the National Weather Service issues a Flash Flood Warning for Orleans Parish and St Bernard Parish, citing a levee breach at the Industrial Canal. The National Weather Service predicted three to eight feet of water and advised people in the warning area to "move to higher ground immediately.”

By 9:00 AM CDT (2100 UTC), there was 6-8 feet of water in the Lower Ninth Ward.

At 10:00 AM CDT (1500 UTC), Hurricane Katrina made its third landfall near Pearlington, Mississippi and Slidell, Louisiana, with sustained winds of 120 mph (193 km/h) after crossing Breton Sound.

By 11:00 AM CDT (1600 UTC), there was approximately 10 feet (3 m) of water in St. Bernard Parish. Many rooftops could not be seen here as they were submerged. Therefore, there was much more than 10 feet (3.0 m) of water in many places.

At 2:00 PM CDT (1900 UTC), New Orleans officials confirmed a breach of the 17th Street Canal levee. There was also confirmation of breaches at two other canals.

President Bush declared a major disaster for Louisiana, Mississippi, and Alabama, under the authority of the Stafford Act.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeline_of_Hurricane_Katrina

Also see, CNN coverage on the five year after Katrina

Quick Links

Not a Member

 

Sign In


Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Calendar

2/12/2017 » 2/15/2017
2017 Winter Conference

PBUS Office Location

1320 N. Semoran Blvd.
Suite 108
Orlando, FL 32807
info@pbus.com

Office (202) 783-4120
(800) 883-7287
FAX (202) 783-4125

Melanie Ledgerwood
Association Manager

Michelle Tremaine
Meeting Planner